Communications planning

UNTJ4460- PR Communication

The beginning of this semester found us creating a communications plan for the clients we worked with in PR Writing last semester. We were also assigned to work in a group to create a communications plan for a large client.

I remember asking the question: how are we going to use communications plans in our jobs as entry-level public relations professionals. The answer that I received, not just from this class, but also from other professionals, is that as entry-level professionals, probably working on the tactics of a plan. We will be helping write press releases. Implementing the social media strategy. Assisting with events. I can’t wait to do all that.

I also can’t wait to actually create a communications plan. I can’t wait to be a part of a team, bouncing ideas off one another, having disagreements, resolving disagreements, pitching the plan to a client, revising the plan based off of the client’s wishes, and delegating the tactics of the plan to my team. I can’t wait to see the plan come to life. I can’t wait to read an article about a story I pitched to a journalist. I can’t wait to see the pictures of my client’s event on the social pages. I can’t wait to be done with a plan and sit with my team to discuss what worked and what didn’t work as we evaluate the success (and failures) of our plan.

But it will take a while to get to that point.

I still have one semester left, and I can only hope that I will be ready to enter the workforce, armed with the skills I have picked up in this class. I can hopefully knock out two internships before December. There is still much to learn in the remaining classes I must take and the experiences that I will have for the rest of my career as a student.

Leave a Reply

